Yasmine's Blog

Saturday Morning Wake-up Call

on November 14, 2013

As I’m slowly waking up the two dominant sounds that reach my ears are the voices of my brothers. Daniel at seven years old, his voice right now is quite disturbing singing a song as loud as he can. Right now the latest song is “Your A Grand Old Flag,” which he was learning at school in preparation for Veterans Day.

“Ba!” Hearing little Ryan’s voice immediately has me wanting to rush downstairs and play with him. Of course my still tired body objects. It’s way to early for me to even think about getting up.
As I drift back to sleep I can imagine the exact sene downstairs from what I hear. I can see Daniel sitting at the kitchen table doing math practice, Ryan pushing his little red car into the cabinets. I can tell my mom is sitting by Daniel helping him while constantly having to tell him to concentrate. I could almost taste the banana my grandma is probably mashing for Ryan. I eventually go into a short lived slumber.


3 Responses to “Saturday Morning Wake-up Call”

  1. Mrs. Kriese says:

    And I can hear the sounds of the singing and that car crashing into the cabinets! Great use of specific images.

  2. meganc752 says:

    This is really descriptive. I like it because I can tell how much you love your brothers, even when Daniel is doing some “disturbing singing”. I wish I had a little brother.

  3. amulyak411 says:

    I loved how much imagery you used. I could really imagine the picture in my head! And really great voice!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar